If you don't want to receive any message from a given number, You can block this user. From your inbox page, simply slide the conversation to the left, then click "More", then tap "Block".
The sender won't then be able to send you further messages. He/she will not be notified of any of their attempts to do so.
To unblock a number, slide the conversation to the left, tap "More", then "Unblock".